Gotta love the loop-holes

So recently I happened across some loop hole money, and surprisingly it was a nice hunk of cash. (Loop hole money is cash that you either find, or win, cash that you weren’t really expecting to have. Therefore, I justify my spending it however I like. A.k.a. giving in to “want” instead of saving it for “need.”) So after treating my friends, I went to the Ottawa Folk center to buy a capo, and to my delight they were having a sale on guitars! A nice selection of Classic or steel string acoustics, ranging from 150-200 dollars. Although Midget Baby (the name  accidentally chosen for my hand-me-down child’s size classic) has served me well for the past couple years, compared to my sisters gorgeous new steel string acoustic, M.G. sounded like a scratchy ukulele in comparison. I was so in love with the sound of her guitar, I had to wait a couple weeks before I played M.G. properly again. With my loop hole money giving myself an added discount, why not take advantage?

As I was trying out the different guitars, and essentially making a bit of a mess for the poor musical employee who was trying to help me, we got into a discussion about sound, and of course, guitars. Actually, it took the guy a little bit of effort to engage me at first. I was too preoccupied playing my G chords, and C chords, that it took me a couple of minutes to realize he was speaking to me. He was a little miffed I believe. But, as with any retail job, you got to keep that smile plastered on. Poor guy. At least I spent money and made it worth it. Anyway, he was trying to show me the difference between two models of steel string acoustics, one having a harder wooden casing, supposedly giving more depth to the sound. So he played one, than the other. There was a definite sound difference, and I was sold, until he realized that both guitars were actually the same model.

This is the interesting part. Although from the same company, and the same model, each guitar had a unique voice and personality. He explained that unlike electric guitars, which can be mass produced, acoustics are hand crafted. This allows a little bit of variety in tone. I don’t know about you, dear audience, but this blew my mind. I loved the idea of each guitar having a unique sound. The guitar I would own, would be the only one in the world to sound like my guitar…which I named Lucy. (After B.B. King’s guitar “Lucille.” Stand by Me was the first song me and my sister learned to play together so I wanted to pay a little tribute.)

That’s one thing I love about music. Music has a life of its own. Yes, the artist can manipulate sound, but sometimes, the music will manipulate the artist. It’s like painting a picture. When I start to paint, or even write for that matter, my brush and words take a life of its own. If you’ve read my other blogs (example, I heard the Song First, you can see how what started as a blog about Krishna consciousness, turned into racism bashing) It’s the untamed stream of consciousness being let loose into the world. Or, if you want to put it this way, creativity at its most pure. Music is manipulation of sound waves; molecules in the air. And we humans have learned to craft instrument to harness this powerful outlet of creativity.

I just experienced a mind orgasm.

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Gotta love the loop-holes

Leave a Reply

