Ageism

Prompt: Write a story that begins with this sentence: Call me Maybe.
Word Limit: 1,000 words

I have to admit, this prompt made me laugh when I saw it. You see that sentence, and all you can think of (at least at this moment) is the song by Calry Rae Jepsen. But a challenge is a challenge, and a great workout for my brain.

It was really relaxing to come home after work today to finish this short story. Work was alright until one horrible customer. I don’t mind retail, and I normally really like interacting with people. But this was the first time I ever really noticed, and experienced extreme ageism. This woman was ridiculous. That is the nicest way I could put it. I don’t understand how a customer can come into the store and assume that because I’m young, I know nothing about custom framing. I work there. I have worked at this store for almost two years. Common sense dictates that yes, I do know a thing or two about picture framing.

“I’ve framed almost 50 of my art pieces, I know what I’m doing.” Lady, I’m not trying to undermine you, my job is to HELP you. But if you want to treat me as though I’m inferior then that’s your judgmental problem.

Respect! It’s such a nice word but for some reason, its so hard to put into practice. I’m not perfect, but at least I try to live life with an open-mind.

Anyway, enough ranting, on-wards! To creativity!

Leave a Reply

