Why DO I write?

So this week, instead of a prompt, Flash Fiction Friday asked us to contribute to the question : “What inspires you to write?” I suppose the greater question to this would be, why write? Along with everything in life, my answer to these questions I found, has changed as the years flow by. But, rather then give a history of the past so-and-so years of my life, i’ll get down to the nitty gritty of the present. I’ll save all that past history stuff when I get around to writing my autobiography… so-and-so years later.

I have to admit, that it’s hard for my to sit down and come up with short stories on my own, without any sort of prompt. All of my ideas tend to run around boundless and end up being too long and complicated for a short story. That’s why I find prompts so helpful; it gives me a boundary which I can choose to either work within, or break out of. And the challenge to come up with something unexpected when given a prompt is also, a lot of fun.

On my own, when I write, I tend to find inspiration from the frightening, the unthinkable, the supernatural, and the unknown. I suppose, in a way, writing is my way to answer some of those questions that no one has an answer for. My largest ongoing project (with no end in near sight unfortunately) is a fiction piece that involves the afterlife as part of the setting.

What happens after we die? Does our conscious merely vanish and our bodies left to rot? Do we even realize we’ve died, or are we merely reborn? Is there that pearly white gate in the sky, above the clouds with angels flying around? Or are we all wrong? I find that this question allows  for the greatest amount of artistic expression and imagination from me, and as I research and learn from other religions, myths, and cultures, I create my own world and idea which I am trying to transcribe onto paper. But like I said before, who knows where the finish line to this project is. At the moment, its on a long hiatus while I fix my writer’s inferiority complex.

Lastly, life inspires me to write; my life to be exact. Writing is my therapy, it the way I attempt to self-actualize. This means that some of my writing hits too close to home, and as a result, it will stay in the dark from you, my dear audience. Sorry. Maybe if I ever get around to seriously revamping some of them, I will attempt to get them out into the light of day.

All in all, everyone at some point in their life finds something that gives them true happiness. I’m talking about that deep, it warms your heart, makes life less complicated and clearer, happiness. To be a writer is to be myself. To find inspiration from the simplest thing gives me such an adrenaline rush, makes me so excited, I know that if I ever were to stop writing, something would be seriously wrong with me.

Thank you everyone who reads what I write and post on this blog as well. Although I write mostly for myself, I also love it when my writing makes people stop and think. If I can leave an impression in someone’s mind, then I consider that my greatest accomplishment of the day.

Until next time (which will hopefully be soon because I am turning another short story around in my head at the moment), Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Why DO I write?

  1. I really enjoyed your post. It is true for me as well, that the stories that please me most are from the simplest of inspirations. Prompts work very well for me too when I’m at a standstill. I am at various stages on three novels (pitiful, I know), and when my mind shuts down, I head over to F3 and those incredible prompts get me going again. I have the fun of turning out a story for F3, as well as kick-starting my mind with one or more of the novels again.

    Writing gives me great pleasure. Sure, I’d love to have novels on the best seller list and multi-book deals in the works, and it sounds hokey, but that’s not why I write. I write because I enjoy it. If others read what I’ve written and my work scares them, makes them laugh, makes them cry, makes them feel anything, that’s what it’s all about. If a story only makes it as far as me? Well, I’ll read and enjoy it still. It’s the process that’s the rush. Right?

    1. I completely agree. If you think about it, writing is a more lasting form of storytelling, which has its purpose to entertain and share. I find that F3 really helps me regain my confidence as a writer too. Trying to get work out to the public as an unpublished writer is a little depressing sometimes haha.
      Thanks for the reply!

Leave a Reply

