When should you stop talking?

This seems to be happening a lot lately. I tend to put a lot on my plate, or at least, I want to put a lot on my plate but unfortunately I never seem to have enough drive to accomplish all the projects I wish to start. When I do develop an idea, that initial excitement lights a fire and I have this need to share my idea with people. Perhaps when I retell it, I relive the moment of inspiration? Nonetheless, sometimes I receive feedback, constructive feedback, on how I should go about it. Hearing another’s advice can be a great source of reference. There is so many tricks and particulars involved with starting anything new, its fun when someone enlightens you. However, I have found that there is an extent to the amount of advice I’m willing to listen to.

Not to be rude, but I will space out and begin to let my mind wander. I’ll still hum along, and say “ya,” every now and then to show my attention, yet consciously my thoughts are in another dimension. I really don’t mean to be cruel, this tendency of mine is due to nerves. You see, I have a friend who is very informed about many things, but when he begins to over share, I become extremely overwhelmed. He begins to list all the things I need to do, should do, would be wise to do… my mind is still trying to store away point number one.
Learning is part of the fun of beginning a new project. It would be great to start something and now everything, but where is the fun in that? You would perhaps overwhelm yourself, or perhaps you might not even begin because you already know that there are too many steps. As you develop your idea, maybe there will be pitfalls, perhaps there will be bridges to cross, but in my opinion, I’d rather not worry about that pothole or chasm until I get there.
5 thoughts on “When should you stop talking?

  1. Well, see…what you gotta do is:

    hehe jk! I zone out too often sometimes. Sometimes I wish there were subtitles in real life so I could remember conversations better.

    1. wouldn’t that be amazing? or perhaps there could be someone who follows us around and spark notes those conversations for later use. And yes, I agree, the image was striking, and slightly creepy ahah which is why i chose it.

Leave a Reply

