A Round of Words in 80 Days: Challenge Accepted

I have been interested in joining a ROW80 round for the past year, but there were all these factors stopping me, school being a large one, but overall lack of motivation and writers block being another large factor. My worst issue as a writer is my inability to dedicate an amount of time each day to write. I blurt out my ideas, spending 3 hours one night, 5 minutes the next night, with no consistency or schedule. And I believe this really hurts me. So many times I have received the very smart tip to write everyday. I can not, for the life of me understand, why I don’t do this.

Anyway, so the purpose of ROW80 is to set a manageable goal for yourself, respecting the fact that although we are writers, our social lives through many curve balls in the way of our dedication. Throughout the round there are check ins; every Wednesday and Sunday you post your status, with the hope that in 80 days you have reached it.

My goal:

I have been struggling with an idea for the better part of a year, and I really want to get a good chunk of my idea down on paper/computer. Hence, my challenge and goal is to write 100 pages by the end of the round. I know to many it may not seem like much, but I am trying to balance school, work, boyfriend and writing, and it isn’t perfect.

So 100 pages in 80 days, that is at least 9-10 pages a week. Here’s to New Year’s Resolution and challenges.

Cheers!

Image

5 thoughts on “A Round of Words in 80 Days: Challenge Accepted

  1. This is a really great idea! I have the exact same problems you’ve mentioned here: time management, lack of consistency, etc. I like the idea of writing according to pages and not word count. Sometimes I have a hard time trying to get a daily word count, but a weekly page count seems a lot more forgiving. Anyway, best of luck on your journey!

  2. 100 pages in 80 days sounds like a great way to get an idea started. Welcome to AROW80, I started near the end of last round and found that it really helped me to maintain a reasonable focus on my writing. Welcome!

    1. Thank you! I really hope that I can keep up with my goals, I’ve always worked better with a deadline and this is really a great opportunity for me to keep that focus. Thanks for the support!

Leave a Reply

