Creating A Voice

Whoops, I’m a little late in posting today. I was a little caught up doing some unnecessary things. But I spent a nice time writing today. Dialogue has always been an aspect of writing that has made me nervous. Am I writing something believable? My main question, when I try to write conversations between characters, is to ask myself whether or not the character would say what I write. So I read it out loud, I try to picture in my head. I imagine the scene. Perhaps the grammar is a little off, or perhaps the writing is too formal. 

The next challenge is making sure that the action makes sense with the words being said. Example: 

“I can’t believe you said that to me,” he spat. 

Yet how can a person speak and spit at the same time? Although the temptation to use words other than “said” is strong, sometimes I do get carried away. So it is important to reread, and edit. To imagine the words with the actions and judge the believability of what you are writing. Although, if your character has two mouths, I don’t see the problem of speaking and spitting at the same time. It all depends.

So at the end of the day, I have successfully reached 54 pages. I have 46 more to write if I hope to meet my goal for the “Round of Words in 80 Days” Challenge. Almost there!

Cheers!

Image

http://365-daysofdoodles.deviantart.com/art/33-Outside-of-my-planet-431400207

5 thoughts on “Creating A Voice

  1. Great post! And funny too 🙂 When I write first drafts they tend to be majority dialouge, then I have to fill in the descriptions and details later. But hey, whatever works, right?

  2. Or if your character is one of those that seems to splatter everyone he/she talks too (you know the kind I mean… the ones that talk with food in their mouths and inevitably spew it across the table as they tell you all about their day)… I could see just a character/person spitting as s/he says something with vehemence.

    But that kind of set-up needs to be done before the statement so it fits.

    Still, a fun post, Stephanie. Thanks. Best luck with your writing.

  3. I struggle with dialogue sometimes, too. I want it to be enjoyable and snappy, but also to crackle with an undercurrent of tension. Reading aloud helps a lot–I sometimes enlist my husband to read one character’s lines while I read the other(s). A fellow writer once suggested creating a voice diary for each of your characters. That way as you write you know exactly what he or she would say. I find that to be a useful exercise.

    Good luck with your writing. It sounds like you’re progressing toward your Round 1 goal!

    1. Thank you for the tips, especially the one about enlisting a second person. I can see how that would be incredibly helpful when it comes to the flow of your dialogue. I’ll be sure to try out your suggestions 🙂

Leave a Reply

