Tell it to me straight?

 

meaning

So I was relying a short story idea to my boyfriend yesterday, and as I told, I began to think. What was I trying to say? The story I had formed in my mind seemed to be just a narrative. I wasn’t sure if I was saying anything at all.

What makes a story strong? Do we need to have all that underlying subtly? I’m not too sure. I do know, that when I write a story with meaning weaved into the words, or that plays with concepts or ideas, I value it a little more. It becomes a labour of thought. Don’t get me wrong, I love telling stories for the sake of telling stories, but writer’s have a great opportunity to tell more with their words. I think it’s important to words to their best advantage. When there is meaning within the story, or the story holds a range of interpretation, it can also relate to a wider audience.

So my new exercise, before I write, is to have a reason. I will find out what I want to say, and then tailor my words to say it.

In other news, I am almost at the 100 word mark. I have now written 94 pages. I never thought i’d be able to hit that many pages with this idea. I suppose my pride is stemming from the fact that I have actually taken the time to follow through with a novel idea for once.

I hope everyone is doing well with their own stories, or projects, or art, or lives in general.

Cheers!

photo reference: http://www.deviantart.com/art/Meaning-141319828

 

2 thoughts on “Tell it to me straight?

  1. Congrats on nearing 100 pgs! I take it this is your first work of that length? I too am relatively new to novel-writing & finding it a challenge to sustain my attention for so many pages, but I think it’s worth it.

    I also agree that it’s important to know what messages your story contains. Or at least to have your own interpretation that goes beyond pure entertainment or shock factor. That said, I think it’s not unusual to start writing a story because it’s fun or entertaining and later realize what deeper meanings lie hidden in it, so I try to let my creative brain have the steering wheel during the drafting process and then after I have a first draft go back and find meaning and let the editing phase focus on that.

    Have a great writing week!

    1. Yes, I have never put this much effort into a writing project before and the experience is exhilarating. Thank you for the encouragement.
      Your point also reminds me a lot of Freud’s theories with the unconscious, and Carl Jung’s Archetypes. There can be meaning within our words that even we ourselves have yet to discover. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

