A Trip to the Past

This week I visited Ottawa, after an absence of two months. How is it that those two months felt more like two years? It was strange, and pleasant to revisit a city where I spent the last five years of my life. My old neighbourhood was essentially the same, with one renovation of a favourite cafe. It was overall a nice trip.

However, I began to think about adaptation, and our abilities as humans to find eventual comfort in strange new areas. When I moved back to my family home, it was definitely a challenge to readapt to a living situation that involved my family. Now it has become almost normal, to the point that Ottawa has become slightly strange. When we move forward with our lives, it is hard to look back. Where will I be next year? Where will I have to adapt to next? The prospect is exciting and frightening, but I know we all have the capacity to make the best out of any situation.

All we need to know to confirm this, is to consider the challenges our ancestors faced, every year of every generation. Canada, for example, was a harsh wilderness, survivable only to those who knew the secrets of nature. When France first attempted to colonize in the late 16th, and 17th centuries, their first few endeavours were far from a complete success. Samuel de Champlain, known today as a father of New France, was forced to abandon his first settlement on Saint Croix Island due to a bitter winter that killed thirty-five men, nearly half the party. Sounds like the makings of a tragic, horror story, yet this is part of Canada’s history. Success is built on multiple failure, and the lessons understood from each fall. It is in our best interest to continue the journey until we make our goals, despite the bumps along the way.

With that in mind, it is crucial to keep a goal in mind, no matter how big or small. Life is about change, and learning through change. With our eye on the prize, we can make decisions that will hopefully lead us closer to the finish line. If not, then we must have the strength to try again.

That being said, I did manage to get some pages in while waiting for my ride home back to the Greater Toronto Area, and I’m fairly happy with them. I have completed 19 pages so far, with 61 more to go before I reach my goal by December 25th. I was hoping to hit 20, but I suppose I’ll have to work hard this week to make up for the slight lack of words.

Word count: 19/80

Days left: 45

Easy peasy, lemon squeezy, right?

Cheers!

4 thoughts on “A Trip to the Past

  1. Some of us get almost hooked on the ‘new places’ feeling. I grew up moving every few months to every few years; I never spent more than two and a half years in any one school, not even high school. When I moved away from home and got married, I married a guy who moved every few months or so, too. I stopped counting my moves at 75, and that was just when I stopped counting. I’ve moved several times since then. I know the feeling well, of finding comfort in new places and new situations. I’m a fast adapter now. 🙂

    It sounds like you enjoyed your trip ‘back home’ to Ottowa; I’m glad there wasn’t too much change, between you and the place. If too much time goes by, both you AND the place are changed too much for a good fit anymore.

    Finally, 61 pages in 45 days? Noooo problem! ;-D

Leave a Reply

